30+ Maryland Elected Officials Endorse Supreme Court Expansion


September 12, 2023

CONTACT: [email protected]

WASHINGTON, DC— On Tuesday, 34 Maryland state and local elected officials announced their support for adding four seats to the United States Supreme Court. 

Maryland officials signed onto a statement urging the expansion of the high court. The statement reads in part: “We are deeply concerned that this Supreme Court majority will undermine our ability as state and local elected officials to secure the rights of Marylanders, as well as our ability to solve critical problems like gun safety.”

The signers include members of the State Senate and State Assembly, as well as city council members from 5 counties across the state. Earlier this year, Maryland Congressman Jamie Raskin announced his support for Supreme Court expansion and became a co-sponsor of the Judiciary Act of 2023

The announcement Wednesday follows similar endorsements for Court expansion by local elected officials in Illinois, Washington, Texas, Pennsylvania, Georgia, North Carolina, and Vermont

A copy of the statement can be found here

The full list of signers can be found below. 

Senator Benjamin Brooks

Senator Jill Carter, Member, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Senator Brian Feldman, Chair, Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee

Senator Ariana Kelly, Member, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Senator Will Smith, Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher, Vice Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Chief Deputy Majority Whip Vaughn Stewart 

Delegate Nicole Williams, Deputy Majority Whip; Member, Judiciary Committee

Delegate Gabriel Acevero, Treasurer, Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus

Delegate Jackie Addison 

Delegate Benjamin Barnes, Chair, Appropriations Committee

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian 

Delegate Mark Edelson 

Delegate Linda Foley, Executive Board Member, Women Legislators of Maryland

Delegate Andre Johnson 

Delegate Ashanti Martinez 

Delegate Bernice Mirkeu-North 

Delegate Sheila Ruth 

Delegate Karen Simpson, Member, Judiciary Committee 

Delegate Stephanie Smith, House Parliamentarian

Delegate Deni Taveras 

Delegate Jen Terrasa 

Delegate Joe Vogel 

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, Chair, Maryland Legislative Black Caucus; Vice Chair, Ways and Means Committee

Annapolis City Councilmember Brooks Schandelmeier 

Anne Arundel County Executive Stuart Pittman 

Baltimore City Councilmember Kristerfer Burnett 

Montgomery County Council President Evan Glass 

Montgomery County Councilmember Natli Fani-Gonzalez 

Montgomery County Councilmember Dawn Luedtke 

Montgomery County Councilmember Kristen Mink 

Montgomery County Councilmember Laurie-Anne Sayles 

Prince George’s County Chair Thomas Dernoga 

Prince George’s County Councilmember Jolene Ivey 

# # #