Demand Justice Statement on 14 New Cosponsors of the Judiciary Act


May 17, 2023

CONTACT: [email protected]

WASHINGTON, DC— In response to news that 14 members of Congress have signed on for the first time to cosponsor The Judiciary Act, the bill to add four seats to the Supreme Court, Demand Justice Executive Director Brian Fallon issued the following statement: 

“There is a rising generation of Democratic leaders who clearly understand that something must be done about the corrupt, dangerous majority that controls the Supreme Court. This group of new cosponsors includes some of the most dynamic and trusted voices in Congress on the path forward to protecting our democracy. The movement to expand the Court is growing, and we look forward to working alongside this group of inspiring leaders.”

Joining the bill for the first time are Reps. Becca Balint, Greg Casar, Jasmine Crockett, Valerie Foushee, Robert Garcia, Sydney Kamlager-Dove, Andy Kim, Summer Lee, Katie Porter, Delia Ramirez, Jamie Raskin, Shri Thanedar, Jill Tokuda, and Juan Vargas.

Reps. Foushee, Kim, Raskin, Thanedar, and Vargas are announcing support for expansion for the first time. In recent weeks, expansion has also been endorsed for the first time by several leading advocacy organizations including: Planned Parenthood, NARAL Pro-Choice America, Color Of Change, Latino Victory, and gun violence prevention organizations. 

Despite the fact that there are fewer Democrats in Congress now than there were last session, the Judiciary Act has more supporters today than it ever has before. 

# # #